“…the less I listen to what people say and the more I look at what they do.”

My resume doesn’t look like yours.  It’s deliberately meant to be non-traditional, both to vet you, dear potential employer and collaborator, and to help me stand out from the pack.

The title of this blog post is part of an Andrew Carnegie quote that frames the second and final page of my resume which simply contains a timeline of the last ten years of my professional life.  As the medium is the message, let me put this blog to use showing you what I do: not only do I plan un/conferences such as #L2BB2L and present on using technology to regional and national teachers, but I also take the time to learn.  What follows are examples of professional learning I am currently participating in and professional learning I am looking forward to participating in this summer.

Present tense learning

teacherpoets

First, I’m writing poetry for the first time in decades.  Each Saturday morning, I will be spending an hour with a dozen or so other #TeacherPoets as we seek to revitalize our own poetry writing in an online workshop and community facilitated by Christopher Lehman.  Session One is archived on Chris’s blog, and is also embedded here.

This week, in session one, we focused on writing about what Chris referred to as a “sliver” rather than a large and thematic idea.  I’m glad to be able to participate in such high quality professional development with this awesome group of teachers and poets.  You can join the conversation on our Google+ community, by checking out the #TeacherPoets action on Twitter, or by simply choosing to join us live at 11EST on 4/19 as we workshop three community members’ poems.

Future perfect learning

roc reform

I’m exited to report that I have once again been selected to be a National Endowment for the Humanities Scholar at a Landmark Institute.  This time I’ll be attending The Rochester Reform Trail (Session 1), here in Rochester, NY learning about the significance of my adopted hometown in local and national reform movements.  Read my application essay here.

Super bonus?  The Diana that I mention in the application essay was also accepted into the Rochester Reform Trail for Session 1.  Two years after she showed me southern hospitality as a local resident and scholar in the NEH Landmark The Most Southern Place on Earth (June 2012), our roles are reversed and she’s coming to learn about local history in my town.

Chime in via comments: What are you currently learning about?  What are you excited to study this summer?  What are the benefits of continued, self-directed professional learning?

S/he who discusses, learns. Say something:

